Zoobooks magazine for kids!
Tell your teachers about EnchantedLearning.com!


Click on a region in the picture to color it in with the selected color.
Click on a color swatch in the palette to select a new color.
The currently selected color in the palette is indicated by a black rectangle drawn around it.
When you click, the point that you're clicking on is at the tip of the arrow or the tip of the pointing finger.

Weasels are furry mammals that are excellent hunters. There are about 10 different species of weasels that live in forests, meadows, and grasslands. They can be found in North America, northern South America, Europe, Asia, and the extreme north of Africa. Weasels live about 10 years in captivity.

Anatomy: Weasels have very short legs, a long snout, and a long, slender body. Some weasels have long tails, others have short tails. They range from 5 to 16 inches (13-41 cm) long, plus a tail up to 7 inches (18 cm) long. Males are about twice the size of females.

Fur: Weasels have brown to yellow-brown fur with paler fur on the belly. The tip of the tail is often black. Many weasels grow white fur in the winter, but the tip of the tail remains black. When an animal chases the weasel, it will often chase the black tail tip and miss catching the weasel.

Diet: Weasels are carnivores (meat-eaters). They eat small mammals (like mice, squirrels, rabbits, and hares), birds, insects, carrion (dead meat that they find), and berries.

Predators: Weasels are preyed upon by owls and hawks.

Classification: kingdom Animalia, Phylum Chordata, Class Mammalia (mammals), Order Carnivora, Family Mustelidae (weasels, ferrets, minks, otters, badgers), Genus Mustela.

Copyright ©1999-2018 EnchantedLearning.com

Click Here -- ZoomStore.com!
Please visit our store.

What's NewSite mapAnimal
Zoom AstronomyZoom BirdsZoom ButterflyZoom DinosaursZoom RainforestsZoom SharksZoom WhalesEnchanted Learning Home
CraftsK-3 ThemesLittle Explorers
Picture dictionary
Rebus RhymesGeographyOceansBiomesZoom SchoolZoom InventorsZoom ExplorersBusy Little Brains

E-mail Zoom Store
Great birthday presents for kids who love animals

Subscribe to our mailing list - find out what's new at EnchantedLearning.com. We'll e-mail you our free newsletter each month! As stated in our privacy policy, we fully respect your privacy and will not use your e-mail address for any purpose other than the newsletter subscription.

Enchanted Learning Search

First search engine with spelling correction and pictures!
Search EnchantedLearning.com for all the words:
Enter one or more words, or a short phrase.
You can use an asterisk * as a wild-card.

Click for ZoomStore.com