Advertisement. is a user-supported site.
As a bonus, site members have access to a banner-ad-free version of the site, with print-friendly pages.
Click here to learn more.

(Already a member? Click here.)'s

Mexico is a large, Spanish-speaking country in southern North America. In Spanish, the name of this country is Estados Unidos Mexicanos (the United States of Mexico). It is the fourth-largest country in the Western Hemisphere.

Capital: Mexico's capital is Mexico City; its original name was Tenochtitlan. It is one of the largest cities in the world, with a population of about 20 million people. Mexico City was founded around AD 1325, and has been inhabited by Teotihuacans, Toltecs, Aztecs, and Spanish conquistadors.

Location: Mexico is located between the United States of America (at the north) and Guatemala and Belize (at the south). At Mexico's west is the Pacific Ocean; at the east is the Gulf of Mexico and the Caribbean Sea.

Climate: Mexico's climate varies from hot deserts, forests, tropical rainforests, and some chapparal (along the northwestern coastline).

Area: Mexico covers almost 2 million square kilometers of land. It has 9,330 kilometers of ocean coastline.

States: Mexico is divided into 32 states (Aguas Calientes, Baja California, Baja California Sur, Campeche, Chiapas, Chihuahua, Coahuila, Colima, Durango, Estado de México, Guanajuato, Guerrero, Hidalgo, Jalisco, Michoacán, Morelos, Nayarit, Nuevo León, Oaxaca, Puebla, Querétaro, Quintana Roo, San Luis Potosí, Sinaloa, Sonora, Tabasco, Tamaulipas, Tlaxcala, Vera Cruz, Yucatán, Zacatecas) plus a Federal District (Mexico City).

Enchanted Learning Search

Search the Enchanted Learning website for:



Copyright ©2000 ------ How to cite a web page