Solar System Tutor - Zoom Astronomy
Our Solar System Zoom Astronomy
Solar System Tutor

Our solar system consists of a central Sun, which is orbited by eight planets and a dwarf planet (and their moons), an asteroid belt, many comets and meteors, plus gas and microscopic dust.

The Sun is a medium-sized star. It is orbited by the following (in order from the Sun): Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, the asteroid belt, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto. The first four planets (Mercury, Venus, the Earth, and Mars) are small, rocky planets. After the orbiting belt of small rocky/metallic asteroids are four gas giants (Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune). The ninth planet is Pluto, a small, rocky dwarf planet.

In our Solar System, which planet is closest to the Sun?
Try Again!
Venus is the second planet from the Sun.

   Red button Mercury
   Red button Venus
   Red button Earth

Copyright ©1999-2018 ------ How to cite a web page