Advertisement. is a user-supported site.
As a bonus, site members have access to a banner-ad-free version of the site, with print-friendly pages.
Click here to learn more.

(Already a member? Click here.)

North Dakota Facts. Map and Symbols
North Dakota Flag Printout
US States: Map/Quizzes
US Regional Map/Quizzes
US Flag Quiz Printouts

North Dakota flag

North Dakota's official flag was adopted in 1911. The flag has a blue field and pictures a bald eagle holding a red ribbon in its bill; the ribbon reads "E PLURIBUS UNUM" (this is the motto of the U.S.A. and means "Out of Many, One" - and refers to the states of the United States being united into one country). The eagle is holding seven arrows and an olive branch (with three red berries) in its talons. The arrows represent the defense of liberty, and the olive branch represents peace. The eagle has a red, whilte and blue shield on its body, with 13 stars (on a blue field) and 13 red and white stripes (representing the USA). Above the eagle are 13 yellow stars (representing the original 13 colonies of the USA) and a yellow fan. Under the eagle is a red scroll reading "NORTH DAKOTA."

North Dakota was the 39th state in the USA; it became a state in 1889.

1. What type of bird is pictured on this flag ? _______________________________________________________

2. What does the olive branch represent? _______________________________________________________

3. When was North Dakota's flag officially adopted? _______________________________

Enchanted Learning Search

Search the Enchanted Learning website for:



Copyright ©2001-2018 ------ How to cite a web page